Obama, the ‘white talking’ black guy..

 

 

According to Ralph Nader, consumer advocate and presidential candidate (and yes he’s running this time too..lol) thinks that Obama is talking white in order to appease or appeal to ‘white guilt’ (sic)..

You know I find this whole phenomenon of ‘talking white’ so hilarious that one, I can’t believe I’m even writing about it and two, I can’t believe that Ralph Nader, an intelligent man by most estimates, would even use that terminology in a sentence!

However, according to Nader, ‘talking white’ means:

” He wants to show that he is not a threatening … another politically threatening African-American politician..he wants to appeal to white guilt. You appeal to white guilt not by coming on as black is beautiful, black is powerful. Basically he’s coming on as someone who is not going to threaten the white power structure, whether it’s corporate or whether it’s simply oligarchic. And they love it. Whites just eat it up.”

You know, if I had Nader’s ear, I would tell him this.. “Bro, that’s not talking white, that’s talking smart..,” LOL..

8 thoughts on “Obama, the ‘white talking’ black guy..

  1. When Community A is larger and more influential than Community B, you will always find individuals from Community B aligning themselves with Community A in order to gain personal benefit. There are several examples I can think of. But I don’t believe Obama is one of those. I haven’t inferred any indication that Obama is aligning himself with the white power bloc in order to gain its approval.

  2. Hey Vasanth,

    You know, I understand your point and I can concede that in some cases politicians and some people ultimately, have to do that in order to achieve their specific goals.

    However, what I take issue with is the fact that Nader didn’t say that but instead chose or sought to narrowly define Obama as the ‘white talking’ black guy. Now, if he had said that Obama was pandering, we can admit that most politicians including Obama have to do some degree of that but to say that he was ‘talking white’ is absolutely ridiculous since there is no such thing as there is no such thing as ‘talking black and to perpetuate that myth is almost as bad as thinking that most black people are on welfare!!!!

    Thanks a lot for your comment..

  3. Ralph Nader,

    Who are you do determine the plight of a black man? Your view of Barack Obama and the Black American is skewed. I would like to know if you could descried the difference between “white talk” or “talking white” and “black talk.” When did being educated and having the ability to use proper English become a “white thing”? Obama talks about Political issues and according to your statements African Americans are poor, abused by the police and live in ghetto housing. Political issues that affect America as a whole are to complex for the average African Americans to understand. I am offended at your outrageous accusations.

    If Presidential candidates are expected to center there campaign solely on the struggles of their race then I am utterly disappointed in McCain, Bush, Clinton, and all other white Presidents or Presidential Nominees who have never campaigned in the trailer parks of America.

    In case you missed the validity of the Civil Right Movement allow me to offer a brief recap. Black is a color. It can not be define by education, economic status, or “talk.” The color of a man’s skin has nothing to do with the content of his character. There is not a special code for being black. You have deeply insulted me, my heritage and all of those who have lived, fault, and died in the civil war and in the Civil Rights Movement for the rights of equality to all men. And I would advice that you, as an American Politician, think a little harder about the statements you choose to make the next time you open your mouth to speak.

    Sincerely,
    An Average Black American

  4. I was watching an interview with Michelle Bernard on Q&A and your blog came up in the interview about some harsh words you had for Mrs. Bernard. I am an African-American freshman college student and pretty moderate so I take umbrage with the attacks you made because they come off as spiteful and fairly jealous. Just because you are black does not mean you must support Obama. Furthermore, whether or not she supported Michael Dukakis or Slick Willy against GHWB is a moot point. When you are an individual in this country you have no choice but to be an opportunist. Both of you have solid credentials as you both attended Georgetown Law, but because she chose a different political path does not mean you should attack her.

  5. K.S, first of all thank you so much for commenting..

    I’m sorry but I personally did not have any harsh words for Ms.Bernard a few of my readers have taken issue with her but I haven’t.

    I don’t know if you read the post I wrote but I just commented on her heritage and its influence on her political leanings.

  6. I don’t care much for Nader’s comment. But his point is that Obama seems to want points from the blacks for his blackness, so why should we not try to expose his whiteness? Clearly he wants to have it both ways. He wants the whites to be color blind and the blacks to think he is black. What a great idea. Is he getting away with it??

    I’d rather Obama forget he is black or white. Actually for the most part, when he is talking to the right audience he seems to do that rather well. I wish everyone else would do the same.

    Let’s see what the man really is willing to offer. So far I hear nothing but empty rhetoric. Seems like just another politician owned by the machine behind the curtain. I for one am totally color blind with respect to Obama. I don’t think he is any more or less “black” than anyone else running for president. Truly I would hope his success or failure has nothing whatsoever to do with his blackness or whiteness, but I honestly don’t trust the average American voter, black or white, with that quality of judgement.

    If anything he is a great example of just how we should stop focusing on race as any kind of an issue at all. Just look where he is. I think we are making progress.

    By the way, I don’t really care for his politics. But I can at least respect him when he doesn’t play the race card.

  7. There is such a thing as “black” talk… I sit next to a white girl who talks “black” all day… except when she’s on the phone???

    What’s up with that?

    Or as she’d say, “Whaz up wit dat?”

    And ASK is not pronounced AXE!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

